Medigap Insurance Plans

There continues to be confusion about Medigap Insurance Plans; also known as Medicare supplemental plans.  Here is some information which I hope will help you better understand your options.

Standardized Medigap Insurance Plans

There are currently 10 standardized Medigap plans, identified as A, B, C, D, F, G, K, L, M, N.  There is also a high deductible Plan F.  Coverage levels and premiums vary between these plans.

The benefits of each plan within a lettered category remains the same, no matter the insurance company providing the coverage or the location.

Exceptions to the Standardized medigap Plans

Massachusetts, Minnesota, and Wisconsin each have their own different set of Medicare supplement plans.

Before You enroll in a medigap Insurance Plan

Before you enroll in any Medigap plan, determine which plan is going to provide the best coverage for you: some will pay for your Part B coinsurance or copayments, some have considerations for those who travel overseas. Choose the plan which fits your lifestyle and preferences the best.

Premiums for Medigap Insurance Plans

While the benefits within the lettered category remains the same, premiums can very from provider to provider.  Do your homework before enrolling in any plan.

Additional Resources

For  more information on Medigap insurance:  Then, click on the top tab: Supplements and Other Insurance.

Stay Informed

You are responsible for understanding your medical insurance coverage and your financial responsibilities related to that care. Ask questions, keep your medical and insurance information current, and don’t hesitate to ask for assistance if you are confused about any aspect of navigating the ever complicated healthcare system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *